10:23?

I have a question for everyone out there in TV Land… What time does McDonald’s stop serving breakfast?
Everyone knows this answer: 10:30.

Then why is it that I was denied service of my chicken biscuit at 10:23?

Let me tell you my tale of woe.

I drove up to the McDonald’s on Lake Saint Louis Blvd. Wednesday morning with an order of a nutritious breakfast for me and my beautiful wife. I rounded the corner and to my delight I saw that nobody was waiting in line. I drove up to the speaker box and looked at their trendy new brown breakfast menu which is not their lunch menu because they go out and flip it exactly at 10:30. The conversation goes as follows.

Voice: Welcome to McDonald’s, would you like to try our mocha hot chocolate?

Me: Not today, Ahhhhhh.. I’d like a chicken biscuit…

Voice: We are serving lunch now.

Me: But it’s 10:23

Voice: We are serving lunch now.

Me: I still have 7 minutes until you are supposed to stop serving.

(Long Pause)

Voice: We are serving lunch now, would you like to order from the lunch menu.
(Keep in mind the lunch menu IS NOT BEING DISPLAYED RIGHT NOW!)

Me: Talk to you later

I then drove off and looked in the window and the lady I was talking to was glaring at me and waved me off.

I would like to tell you this was the first time this has happened at this particular McDonald’s but it is not.
This was the 3rd time, and the other stories are just as good.

Time #1

I arrived at the McDonald’s on Lake Saint Louis Blvd with an order of a nutritious breakfast for me and my beautiful wife.
This was a Saturday so there was a line, but it was 10:18 so I had plenty of time.
I slowly worked my way through the drive thru line and was waiting for my turn to talk into the little magic box.
The front of my car was already parallel with the box but my window was not in speaking distance. But, it was okay, I still had 8 minutes.
And there I sat in the same spot for 8 minutes. The car at the window was waiting for their food the whole time. Suddenly at 10:30 a door swung open and a girl ran out and flipped the menu around to the lunch side. Just as she did that the car moved and I was able to move the 2 feet needed to speak into the box.

Voice: Welcome to McDonald’s, would you like to try a Double Cheeseburger?

Me: Do you still have breakfast?

Voice: We are serving lunch now.

Me: But I have been waiting in line for the last 12 minutes.

Voice: We stop serving breakfast at 10:30.

Time #2

My beautiful wife and I arrived at the Lake Saint Louis Blvd McDonald’s. We went inside this time because we were going on a little road trip to the city.
There was a small line inside but it was okay, we still had 10 minutes.
So we stood in line, and we quickly realized that the line was not moving and there was nobody working at the counter.
But this is okay, because that just means everyone was working on making food for their loyal customers.

Finally the girl comes back and looks at the line, and looks at the clock.. 5 min remaining. So what does she do?
Does she jump up and make sure everyone gets their orders in before 10:30?
NOPE
She then turns around and starts to make more coffee, slowly scooping it while watching the minutes tick by until they don’t have to grill any more sausage. The time went down, and breakfast was over.

I used to defend the McDonald’s on Lake Saint Louis Blvd. They were new and they had a few mistakes in the beginning, but I knew everything would work out.

Sometimes I am wrong.

Why is it that so many people get so worked up about this 10:30 deadline? It has been in TV shows, Movies, and stand up comedy.
People want their breakfast and they want it now!

McDonald’s, you need to see this problem and make some changes.. like hold breakfast until 11:00

Me: I want a chicken biscuit

Voice: We stop serving breakfast at 11

DRAT!

Leave a comment